Day 54: Counting Sheep

9 more days – count them – 9!

I hit the Max Interval Circuit with gusto. Of course, I flaked out by the time we got to the third circuit with its plank nonsense.

I’m seeing more and more this week how my performance is adversely affected by lack of sleep. Shaun T recommends 7-8 hours of sleep to get through the programme and I can understand why. It really takes every ounce of your energy to sustain an hour of constant movement – to stay focused, to keep your form and to last the distance.

I had much better sleep patterns in Month 1 and felt better in myself too. It’s easy to know when you’re not eating enough or sleeping enough because instead of feeling energised by a workout, you feel drained and exhausted for the rest of the day. I think I’m eating enough so I need to work out how to settle into a better bedtime routine. Either that, or learn how to switch off my brain.

Sleep tips, anyone?

What do you think?

