Day 3: Cardio Power & Resistance

My abs hurt (when I say abs, I mean the rolls of fat gently cascading across my stomach). My calves feel like small bricks. I am now beginning to fear anything that begins with the word ‘cardio’. As the days grow colder, the word ‘cardigan’ is creeping into conversations and even that is freaking me out. This is the psychological power of ‘Insanity’. You become afraid of the smell of your own sweat.

On the menu today is the playful-sounding Cardio Power and Resistance. Accompanying it is the lovely image of a pony-tailed lady sheathed in sweat and pumping her fist and knee. Is she imagining that she is planting that knee in Shaun T’s groin? I like to think so.

cardio power and resistance

No, I’m not feeling resentful at all. Let’s move on.

Summary of Day 3: A vigorous ‘warm-up’. Two more circuits of max interval training. The inevitable stretching. And then, mercifully, it ends… with more high fives, whoops and sweaty body hugs all round. The Cat hid as soon as I pressed Play so I had to high five myself in the end.

What I have learned today is that my arms are allergic to push-ups. They are definitely my weakest area and I HATE any form of exercise that involves arm strength (except things like lifting a forkful of food to my mouth). Beware, today’s workout focuses a LOT on maximising power in your legs and arms. There’s a bit more floor work than yesterday and a lot more sweat on the faces of our Insanity gymnasium friends.

Strangely though, I found this workout more bearable than yesterday’s plyometric explosions. I was suspicious of whether I’d worked as hard today as I did yesterday, but a quick glance at my beetroot face in the mirror allayed my fears. In fact, there are more mini-breaks in the Cardio Power & Resistance workout which makes it feel less sadistic. These extra time-outs give you a chance to recover some energy and walk off the aching weariness in your muscles.

I’m off now to drink a recovery shake, so let me close Day 3 with a loving close-up of one of the T-1000’s after the main workout was done:

Says it all, really.

4 thoughts on “Day 3: Cardio Power & Resistance

  1. Haha this motivates me to get up early tomorrow for DvD3…well let’s see if I can really get up – such plans use to be a better idea in the evenings than when the alarm clock rings πŸ˜‰ But thanks for sharing. We can do this!! Fantastic that you reached day 39 – good luck and keep going πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for your positive attitude! I hope your own experience is going well. It’s so hard to get up early in the morning when you know you have a hard workout ahead, right? Especially this time of year – I would rather stay in bed where it’s warm and comfortable! πŸ˜‰

What do you think?

